Author Topic: Repair self cancelling indicator relay  (Read 140 times)

Offline sam9

• Forum member
  • Newcomer
    • http://abacuscaralarms.co.uk/
Repair self cancelling indicator relay
« on: September 12, 2022, 12:55:34 PM »
Hi all, Ive looked everywhere for a repair guide to the dreaded self cancelling indicator relay fitted to many late RD's & XS's of the seventies & eighties. I'm no expert but do have some knowledge of electrics from this era. I've gathered the following info from studying wiring diagrams testing various parts, trail and error & comments from other RD enthusiasts, so for any mistakes or wrong info I give I apologise, so please do not hold me responsible if your bike goes up in a pile of smoke because of this article. If you do notice any mistakes or wrong info please let me know or comment below.

When the indicator switch is operated It connects set of contacts which give a permanent output to the indicator relay,  this output is cancelled or changed when either the indicator switch is pressed in (cancelled) or switched to the other direction, plus after a 100 metres or 10 minutes (which ever comes first) the timer unit sends a negative 12 volt output to the relay which cancels the flashing. The timer output is reset when the indicator switch is operated again. The self cancelling function will not work with after market relays.